## I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

**Resolution No. 20 (LS)** As amended.

Introduced by:

A. B. Palacios, Sr. Frank F. Blas, Jr. <u>Edward J.B. Calvo</u> James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio D. L.G. Shimizu Ray Tenorio A. R. Unpingco J. T. Won Pat

Relative to extending a special recognition to the KUAM News Team for its professionalism and expertise in providing accurate and timely interactive media news and information of interest through its "KUAM.Com" interactive website; and to congratulating it on being named the recipient of the "2006 National Edward R. Murrow Award" from the Radio-Television News Directors Association and Foundation for best local news website (small-market); and to further extending "Un Dångkolo' Na Si Yu'os Ma'ase'" on behalf of the people of Guam for its continued excellent service. BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN
 GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, the KUAM News Team, approximately seven (7) years ago, 4 initiated one of the most interactive local media websites, which has since 5 provided up-to-date news coverage and information on Guam and the 6 Western Pacific region; and

WHEREAS, the KUAM News Team's web site is one of Guam's largest
and most visited web sites, KUAM.com, which features a wide variety of
news media content delivery and services; and

WHEREAS, the KUAM News Team, with professionalism and expertise
 in the identification and dissemination of news information, continues to
 provide one of the most technologically advanced web sites on Guam; and

WHEREAS, KUAM has once again been awarded the "2006 National
Edward R. Murrow Award" by the Radio-Television News Directors
Association and Foundation; and

WHEREAS, KUAM, over the last three (3) years, has won a total of five
(5) Murrows, including two (2) consecutive regional Edward R. Murrow
Awards for web site excellence; now, therefore, be it

19 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does 20 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize the diligence and 21 professionalism of the KUAM News Team members over the past few years, 22 most especially for being named by the Radio-Television News Directors 23 Association and Foundation as the recipient of the "2006 National Edward R. 24 Murrow Award"; and be it further

2

1 **RESOLVED**, that I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does 2 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, extend its most heartfelt "CONGRATULATIONS" to the KUAM News Team for setting the highest 3 standards for thorough news and media coverage of Guam, thus keeping the 4 5 people of Guam informed about a wide variety of Guam activities; and extends "un dångkolo' na si Yu'os ma'ase'" for the news service the team has 6 provided and will continue to provide to the people of Guam, and extends 7 further its best wishes for continued success for many years to come; and be it 8 9 further

10 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 11 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 12 thereafter transmitted to Mr. Joey Calvo, General Manager, KUAM; to Ms. 13 Sabrina Salas Matanane, News Director and Anchor; to Mr. Jason Salas, 14 Interactive Media Director and News Anchor; and to the Honorable Felix P. 15 Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 3<sup>RD</sup> DAY OF APRIL 2007.

**ŘK FORBES** RAYTENORIO Speaker

Senator and Secretary of the Legislature